University of Pittsburgh's Department of History of Art & Architecture is pleased to present the

Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony

honoring degree recipients in Architecture and Architectural Studies, History of Art & Architecture, and Museum Studies

May 1, 2021 | 3-4pm



Faculty Presenters

Christopher Drew Armstrong, Director of Architectural Studies and Associate Professor Gretchen Bender, Assistant Chair & Director of Undergraduate Studies and Senior Lecturer Maria D'Anniballe, Undergraduate Advisor and Lecturer II Jennifer Josten, Chair and Associate Professor Thomas Morton, Senior Lecturer Alex Taylor, Academic Curator and Assistant Professor

Honoring Graduates from the Department of History of Art & Architecture

Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies

Kami Beckford Colin Andrew Chewning Maeve Kreinbrook Zach Lefever Jaden McMillian Emily Pinigis Kyle C. Waraks

Bachelor of Science in Architecture

Morgan Elizabeth Carlisle Erica Conner Jada Rachelle Crittendon Alejandro G. Cuevas Maria Doku John Dwyer Jiashun Gao Peter Hong Joshua Jordan Harisa Martinos Benjamin K. Ohrman Darien Shay Strickler

Bachelor of Arts in History of Art & Architecture

Annie Abernathy Ursula Buba Sunny Buddai Delia Claire Gawarkiewicz Franklin Roy Gao Steven Edward Hart Yilei Li Isaac Pleta Morgan Powell Olivia Rutledge

Honors Theses and Independent Projects

Students who have at least a 3.5 departmental GPA can qualify for departmental honors by completing a senior thesis with a minimum grade of A-. Students develop a research paper under the direction of a faculty member suitable for application to graduate programs in art history and architecture, or to other professional schools.

Annie Abernathy

"From the Mixed-Up Files of E. L. Konigsburg: Mysteries of Value and Belonging in the Museum" Faculty Advisor: Alex Taylor

Jada Rachelle Crittendon

"From Gert to Royal Tent" Faculty Advisor: Sahar Hosseinibalajadeh

Maria Doku

"Modular Housing: Efficiency and Sustainability for the 21st Century" Faculty Advisor: Christopher Drew Armstrong

Delia Claire Gawarkiewicz Franklin

"The Book of Kells: How a Medieval Manuscript Became a Modern Representation of Irishness" Faculty Advisor: Shirin Fozi

Roy Gao

"History Lost and Found: Performative Re-enactments and Simulation in *The Act of Killing*" Faculty Advisor: Josh Ellenbogen

Joshua Jordan

"Roots of the Affordable Housing Crisis: How Twentieth-Century Racially Motivated Housing Policies Continue to Impact Today's Housing Market" Faculty Advisor: Thomas Morton

Morgan Powell

"Subject to Change: Greer Lankton and Memory Practices" Faculty Advisor: Josh Ellenbogen

2020-2021 Departmental Awards

John F. Haskins Award for Excellence in Art and Architectural History

Annie Abernathy

Faculty Commendation Award for Distinguished Academic Performance & Leadership

Kami Beckford Harisa Martinos Morgan Powell

Friends of Frick Fine Arts Research Award

Dara Czernikowski

Friends of Frick Fine Arts Summer Fellowship at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History

Jasmin Brown

Greer Lankton Summer Fellowship at the Mattress Factory

Delia Claire Gawarkiewicz Franklin



At this Commencement Convocation, degrees are conferred upon persons who completed requirements in December 2020 and April, May, and August 2021. Because candidates for April, May, and August 2021 would not have completed degree requirements before the printing of this program, it was not possible to provide more than a tentative listing of candidates. The diploma of the University, signed and sealed by its proper officers, remains the official testimony of possession of a degree.